Philanthropy, technology and the comics

February 6, 2012 at 1:05 pm Leave a comment

I’m the first to admit – and my co-workers, family and friends will confirm – that I’m not a tech savvy, early adopter kind of person. So, when I saw the Doonesbury comic strip last Friday, AND understood what a QR code was, I was not only intrigued that the strip’s creator was using it to encourage charitable giving but actually went to the charity’s website.

DonorsChoose is an online nonprofit organization that connects individuals – and their charitable dollars – to classrooms in need. Here’s how it works, in a nutshell. Teachers enter their funding requests of all types – asking for money to buy everything from pencils to microscope slides to clay and paints. Individuals can search for one of the thousands of projects (20,975 on Feb. 3) in a variety of ways. Looking for something close to home? Search by location. Looking for a kind of school? A particular age group? Click the search by items  and up pops the list of possible projects, complete with how much has been donated to date.

Okay, I confess I didn’t actually use the QR code to get to donorschoose, I don’t have that app on my smartphone – that’s on my to do list next.

Entry filed under: Commentaries.

Groundhog Day does more than predict the weather “I’m from the IRS and I’m here to help.”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website

Get Your Philanthropy Ohio News First

Reader Subscription

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 91 other followers

Categories


