New on the job

January 30, 2012 at 1:31 pm 1 comment

This week OGF introduces the new president of the GAR Foundation, who was promoted to her new role recently.  

Name:
Christine Amer Mayer

Title & organization:
President, GAR Foundation  

Previous job:
Chief Operating Officer and Legal Counsel, GAR Foundation

Why did you make the move?
Our former president, Rob Briggs, transitioned on to new opportunities, and I seized a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to lead an organization I love!

What do you hope to accomplish?
I aim to continue down the path of convening and communicating with our grantees – who are the experts in their fields – so that we can help them find the natural intersections in their work, innovate together, and achieve greater community impact.

What’s surprised you so far?
The number of people who want to schedule a lunch!

What’s on your MP3 player?
I don’t have an MP3 player, but on my iphone you’ll find  music, music, and more music – mostly in my custom Pandora stations. I am shamefully behind the curve in making room for podcasts in my life.  It’s just too hard to compromise my music time!

What’s the last book you read?
The last book I finished was Leap of Reason by Mario Morino, a must-read for all nonprofit leaders who are interested in organizational self-improvement. Now I’m engrossed in The Art of Possibility by Benjamin Zander and Rosamund Stone Zander. I’m still deciding how the measurement emphasis of the former book and the “contribution” lens of the latter will work together because both seem correct to me. I’ll have to get back to you on it!

Entry filed under: OGF News.

OGF Becoming New “App” for Ohio Philanthropy Groundhog Day does more than predict the weather

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dani Robbins  |  January 30, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    I am just thrilled for Christine, for the GAR Foundation and for Akron! Kudos to the Board of Trustees!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit Our Website

Get Your Philanthropy Ohio News First

Reader Subscription

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 92 other followers

Categories


